TA and Future Faculty Awards Day

Wednesday, April 19, 2023, from 4:30 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. 
Exhibition Hall, Midtown Ballroom or virtually

Thank you to all who attended in person or remotely! 

Read about the event and see the full list of honorees.


The Center for Teaching and Learning is proud to recognize students and postdocs for their contributions to the learning environment at Georgia Tech. At this annual event, we celebrate the following groups:

  • Teaching assistants who receive school-level and institute-wide awards
  • Participants of our future faculty program who have completed Tech to Teaching and CIRTL teaching certificates
  • Graduate students engaged in CTL's Graduate Teaching Fellows, International TA Liaisons, and BOLD Fellows programs

Attendance at the in-person awards ceremony and reception is limited to our honorees and their guests. We invite everyone to tune in to the BlueJeans Live broadcast of the awards ceremony. 

Receiving a certificate but cannot attend the ceremony? Please complete this form to let us know where to deliver your certificate.

Information about the TA Awards competition

Each year, the Center for Teaching and Learning (CTL) celebrates the contributions to teaching excellence at Georgia Tech made by our graduate and undergraduate teaching assistants. The annual awards process opens in January. CTL asks all schools/departments to conduct an internal competition to produce one person in each of the following categories, where applicable. All school-level winners are invited to apply to the institute-wide TA of the Year competition. We honor all school/department award winners and announce the institute-wide winners at the annual TA and Future Faculty Awards Day.

  1. Graduate Student Instructor of the Year
  2. Graduate Teaching Assistant of the Year
  3. Undergraduate Teaching Assistant of the Year
  4. Online Head Teaching Assistant of the Year
  5. Online Teaching Assistant of the Year

Get more information here

Previous Institute-wide TA of the Year Award Winners

Graduate Student Instructor: Elizabeth Jones, Chemistry & Biochem; Alexandra Muscalus, Civil & Environ Eng; Boni Yraguen, Mechanical Eng
Graduate TA: Vinodhini Comandur, Aerospace Engineering; Jiayu Yao, Business; Tao Yu, Mathematics
Undergraduate TA: Bryan Clark, Mathematics; Kevin Li, Computational Science & Engineering; Shawn Wahi, Computer Science
Online Head TA: Jaewoo Jung, Mathematics; Kai Ouyang, Computer Science; Joanne Truong, Interactive Computing
Online TA: Addison Malone, History & Sociology; Alicia Robang, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering; Raghav Tandon, Biomedical Engineering

Graduate TA: Cristian Crisan, Biological Sciences; Frederic Faulkner, Computer Science; Elizabeth Jones, Chemistry & Biochemistry
Graduate Student Instructor: Meghan Benda, Chemistry & Biochemistry, Arvind Krishna, Industrial & Systems Engineering; Jiani Zhu, Scheller
Undergraduate TA: Anshul Tusnial; Chandler Watson, Chemistry & Biochemistry: Sophia Wiesenfeld, Biological Sciences
Online Head TA: Frances Brysonn, Mechanical Eng: Shahrokh Shahl, Computer Science & Eng; Tohid Shekari, Electrical & Computer Eng
Online TA: Lynnae Stypulkowski, Civil & Environmental Engineering; Jack Olinde, Mathematics; Kristel Topping, Biological Sciences

Graduate TA: Cvetelina Hill, Mathematics; Elaine Rhoades, Physics; Yushuo Yang, Economics
Graduate Student Instructor: Aditya Anupam, Literature, Media & Communication; Yoan Delchev, Mathematics; Anthony Harding, Economics
Undergraduate TA: Brandon Kang, Industrial & Systems Engineering; Caroline Kish, Computer Science; Max Poff, Mathematics

Graduate TA: Jessica Fisch, City and Regional Planning; Rafael Marin, Electrical and Computer Engineering; Tuo Zhao, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Graduate Student Instructor: Pedro Jose Arias Monje, Materials Science and Engineering; Sophie Kay, Psychology, Evan Mallen, City and Regional Planning
Undergraduate TA: Adrianna Brown, Computer Science; Martin Sebastian Fernandez, Mathematics; Talha Khawaja, Physics

Graduate TA: Travis Meyer, Biomedical Engineering; Benjamin Ide, Mathematics; Brian Fuchs, Mechanical Engineering
Graduate Student Instructor: Kantwon Rogers, Computer Science; Michael Baldwin, Mechanical Engineering, Sidni Vaughn, Psychology
Undergraduate TA: Jacqueline Elliott, Computer Science; Olatide Omojaro, Electrical & Computer Engineering; Markace Rainey, Mathematics

Graduate TA: Haley Steele, Biological Sciences
Graduate Student Instructor: Emily Alicea-Munoz, Physics
Undergraduate TA: Jared Kleinwaechter, Mathematics

Graduate TA: Philip Varney, Mechanical Engineering
Graduate Student Instructor: Anthony Bonifonte, Industrial and Systems Engineering
Undergraduate TA: Bonnie Shoai, Biology

Graduate TA: Joseph Walsh, Mathematics
Graduate Student Instructor: Philip Benge, Mathematics
Undergraduate TA: Kantwon Rogers, College of Computing

Graduate TA: Allison Martin, Psychology
Graduate Student Instructor: G. James Lemoine Jr., Business
Undergraduate TA: Arun Kumar, Biomedical Engineering

Graduate TA: Ranjini Vaidyanathan, Mathematics
Graduate Student Instructor: German Retana, Business
Undergraduate TA: Andrew Travis Rogers, Mathematics

Graduate TA: Rebecca Cooper, Biology
Graduate Student Instructor: Elise Barrella, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Undergraduate TA: Melanie Dunn, Mathematics

Graduate TA: Daniel Borrero, Physics
Graduate Student Instructor: Ben Deaton, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Undergraduate TA: Aerin DeJarnette, Biology

Graduate TA: Huy Huynh, Mathematics
Graduate Student Instructor: Jill Coffin, Digital Media
Undergraduate TA: Sunny Shah, Mathematics

Graduate TA: Marcos Caballero, Physics
Graduate Student Instructor: Selma Yildirim Yolcu, Mathematics
Undergraduate TA: Laura Stilz, Mathematics

Graduate TA: Brian Jacobs, Management
Graduate Student Instructor: Mitchel Keller, Math
Undergraduate TA: Wendy Morrison, Biology

Graduate TA: Christina Carroll, Mathematics
Graduate Student Instructor: Hal Hollis, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Undergraduate TA: Karla Vincent, Biology

Graduate TA: Joanna Hass, Physics
Graduate Student Instructor: Ryan Michael Haynes, Mathematics
Undergraduate TA: Samer Tawfik, Aerospace Engineering